”Academy ”Academy
Home     |     Reiki     |     Silence     |     Hypnotherapy    |     Past Life Therapy    |     Blog


Chakras: The Energy Centers of our Body

What are Chakras?

'Chakra' is a Sanskrit word, meaning wheel or disk. In terms of our body, a chakra is a vital point, which vibrates with energy. It spins and draws energy from the universe, and this energy flows between chakras along pathways called 'nadi's.

Scientifically, a chakra is a point where one or more important glands are present. Proper, healthy functioning of these glands ensures healthy living. Energy-wise, when the chakras are vibrating with positive energy, a person is healthy.

Each chakra governs the body parts linked to the gland, and is linked to certain emotions as well. Imbalance in the chakras could cause physical/ mental/ emotional problems, and vice versa.

The Seven Chakras

There are many chakras in our body, but seven are the most important.


The Crown or Sahasrar Chakra

This is the chakra which connects our energy system to the universe. That is, the universal energy enters our body through this chakra. This is the most subtle and advanced of all the chakras, and is related to pure consciousness (the ultimate truth).

NameCrown Chakra
SanskritSahasrar (Thousand-fold)
LocationTop of Head
GlandPituitary gland
DescriptionThousand petaled Lotus
AttributesSpiritual Awakening, Enlightenment, Cosmic Consciousness
ColourPurple, White, Gold, Silver
Physical ProblemsMigraine, Brain Tumour, Amnesia, Coma, Sensitivity to Light/ Sound
Behavioral ProblemsConfusion, Cynicism, Rigidity, Greed, Domination
Healing ApproachDiscipline, regular meditation and self searching
StonesAmethyst, White Topaz

The Brow or Ajna Chakra

Ajna Chakra is also greatly related to the spiritual development of a person. It is also the chakra which influences intuitions, clairvoyance and psychic abilities. This is the chakra of time, awareness and light. In Hindu scriptures, the this chakra is often represented by a flame, or a third eye posititioned vertically between the eyebrows.

NameBrow Chakra
SanskritAjna (Perception)
LocationBetween the eyebrows
GlandPineal Gland
DescriptionTwo Petaled Lotus
AttributesIntuition, Intellect, Imagination, Psychic powers
Physical ProblemsPoor Vision, Sinus & Nose Problems, headaches, seizures, learning disability, nerve problems, neurological problems
Behavioral ProblemsLack of Imagination, visualisation & foresight, poor memory, obsession, nightmares, hallucinations
Healing ApproachMeditation, visual stimulation, arts, hypnosis
StonesLapis Lazuli, Azurite

The Throat or Vishuddha Chakra

The throat chakra represents communication - of all kinds. Whenever we have a communication problem, either with ourselves or others, the throat chakra gets affected. It also is the centre of growth and creativity, and governs all forms of expression, including creative.

NameThroat Chakra
SanskritVishuddha (Purification)
GlandThyroid Gland
DescriptionSixteen Petaled Lotus
AttributesCommunication, self-expression, divine guidance
Physical ProblemsStammering, weak voice, laryngitis, swollen glands, thyroid and ear problems
Behavioral ProblemsTalking too much or too less, poor listening skills,
Healing ApproachImprove communication skills - letter writing, think before speaking, singing, chanting. Observe long periods of silence (maun vrath)
StonesAquamarine, Turquoise, Sodalite, Sapphire, Blue Tourmaline, Blue Quartz

The Heart or Anahata Chakra

The Anahata Chakra is related to love, trust, compassion, equilibrium, well-being and higher emotions. It is adversely affected by stress. Lack of giving/ receiving enough love also causes problems in this chakra.

NameHeart Chakra
SanskritAnahata (Unstruck)
GlandThymus Gland
DescriptionTwelve Petaled Lotus
AttributesLove, self-love, intimacy, forgiveness, loneliness
ColourGreen, Pink
Physical ProblemsProblems of the heart, lungs, breast, thymus and arms, asthma, allergy, immune system problems
Behavioral ProblemsJealous, critical, lonely, depressed, demanding, narcissism, fear of intimacy, intolerant
Healing ApproachBreathing exercises, self-discovery, increase self-love and thereby love others more
StonesRose quartz, Emerald, Jade

The Solar or Manipur Chakra

The solar chakra relates to self-esteem and self image, and consequently affects home, family and long-term relationships. It's element is fire, and it represents our action, our will, our vitality and our transition from base, survival instincts to higher emotions. In terms of emotions, it represents warmth. Those who are emotionally cold, or frequently hot-tempered, have a problem in this chakra.

NameSolar Chakra
SanskritManipur (Lustrous Gem/ City of Jewels)
LocationSolar Plexus, 3 finger-widths above the navel
GlandPancreas, Outer Adrenal Glands
DescriptionTen Petaled Lotus
AttributesIntellect, power, ambition, self-esteem, will, responsibility
MantraRam (pronounced as Rum)
Physical ProblemsArthritis, diabetes, digestive disorders, ulcers, problems with stomach, liver, colon and intestine, anorexia or bulimia, pancreatitis, gallstones, allergies
Behavioral ProblemsPoor self esteem, overly aggressive, arrogant, stubborn, hyper active, competitive, passive, sluggish, blaming, unreliable
Healing ApproachDeal with stress and ego issues, energetic exercises like sit-ups, relaxation
StonesYellow Tourmaline, Yellow Topaz, Yellow Jasper, Golden Calcite

The Hara or Svadisthana Chakra

The main aspect of this chakra is sexuality. It is the center of emotions, pleasure, sexuality and creativity. It is influenced by the moon, and in turn affects our emotions.

NameHara Chakra
SanskritSvadisthana (Sweetness)
LocationLower abdomen, 3 finger-widths below the navel
GlandTesticles/ Ovaries
DescriptionSix Petaled Lotus
AttributesEmotions, emotional identity, sexuality, creativity, pleasure, ethics
Physical ProblemsSexual problems, back problems, problems with reproductive organs, spleen, urinary system
Behavioral ProblemsDramatic mood swings, Addiction to or fear of sex, emotional dependence, obsession, poor social skills, lack of desire or passion, loss of appetite for food, sex or life
Healing ApproachEmotional release, movement therapy, enjoy healthy pleasures
StonesFire Agate, Amber, Orange spine, Orange Calcite, Fire Opal

The Root or Muladhar Chakra

The Muladhar chakra relates to basic survival instincts, and is the foundation for the whole chakra system. When this chakra is in harmony, it brings a balance of stability and flexibility to our life. This chakra is also related to the grounding of a person - the force which keeps us firmly connected with ground realities, and also build strong foundations on which to base our life.

NameRoot Chakra
SanskritMuladhar (Root, Base)
LocationBase of the spine
GlandInner Adrenal Glands
DescriptionFour Petaled Lotus
AttributesStability, grounding, security, will power, safety, prosperity, physical energy
Physical ProblemsSluggishness, tiredness, weight problems, skin, bone, teeth and back problems,
Behavioral ProblemsGreed, fear, fear of change, anxiousness, addiction to security, restlessness, lack of discipline
Healing ApproachPhysical activity, touch therapy, massage, hatha yoga
StonesGarnet, Ruby, Red Jasper, Bloodstone, Red coral, Smoky Quartz

About Us   |    Contact Us  |    Corporates  |    Facebook  |    Twitter  |    Buy Reiki Book

©2015, Reiki-Bangalore.com. All Rights Reserved.